Faculty and Staff Assignments Announced for 2017-2018


The Administration of DuBois Central Catholic announces staff assignments for the 2017-18 academic year.  DCC’s Pre-School, Elementary, Middle, and High Schools are housed in a four-wing educational complex at 200 Central Christian Road in Sandy Township.  According to first year headmaster, Gretchen Caruso, the facility opened its doors at this location in the Fall of 2002 and is accredited by the Middle States Association of Colleges and Schools from Pre-K through Grade 12.

According to Dawn Bressler, Principal of the middle school and high school, the Class of 2018 will be the 57th class of graduates from Central.  She adds, “Catholic education in the DuBois area enjoys a long-standing tradition dating back to the late 19th Century (1889), and our school goal of spreading the Gospel message has remained the same now into the 21st Century.”

Reverend Monsignor Charles A. Kaza, Pastor of St. Tobias Parish in Brockway, will continue serving as the President of the school system.  Reverend Father Edward Walk returns as Assistant Headmaster.  Brenda Aravich returns as Assistant Elementary Principal.  Mrs. Kathleen Kunkle serves as Academic Dean of Curriculum, and Mrs. Deidre Minns is Director of Guidance.

Elementary faculty members include the following: Missy Noroski,  Kristy Morgan, and Ashley Day – pre-school;   Kelle Pompeii and Stacey Frank – two sections of all-day kindergarten;  Brenda Aravich and Barb Dettore, first grade;  Jennifer Pisarcik and Linda Schalk, second grade;  Amber Stoey and Kristy Erich, third grade;  Susie Maurer and Jenna Nedzinski, fourth grade;  Debbie Vandervort and Kristy Snyder, fifth grade;  Joseph Lesnick, music and library facilitator;  Rickie Martini, phys ed;  Emily Roy – art; and Sarah Winslow – elementary technology instructor; and Chris Felix, Elementary Resource Teacher.

Secondary faculty members include the following:    Heather Barber – English 7 & 8, Journalism 8,  Speech 7, Spanish 8, Library (MS);   Lisa Blasdell – Excel & Data,  Intro Programming, Cardinal Chatter,  Research 10,  3D & Web,  Media/Games, Mastering Web, and Marketing;   Steve Boland  – English 6, 7, 8; and Library (MS); Lisa Bradley – Medical Technology, Anatomy & Physiology, Chemistry I & II; and Chemistry Honors I & II;  Andy Chaplin – German 6;   Donna Chollock –  AP Biology, Biology,  Environmental Science, French, and Ecology;   Tara Deemer  – Spanish I, II, III, IV;  Becky Dutra – Theology 11 & 12,  Liturgy & Sacraments,  and World Religions;  Ashley Eck – Pre-Algebra 7 & 8, Math 6, Problem Solving 7 & 8, and Study Skills 6;    Angela Edwards – Intro Engineering,  CAD,  Robotics 8, and Finance.

Other secondary faculty members are Rene Gressler – Science 6, 7, 8, and Science Enrichment 8;   Shelly Hanes – Algebra I & II, Basic Algebra, and Algebra II Honors; Cheyenne Helman – Art 6, 7, 8; Art I, II and Studio Art;  Carol Korthaus – English 10, Creative Writing, Journalism, Communications, Humanities, and English 12 Honors;  Tara Kramer – Social Studies 7, 8, and Computer 6, 7, 8;   Kathleen Kunkle – Adv. Lit & Composition, Advanced English 11, Drama, Social Justice, and English 9, 11;  Ricky Martini  – Phys Ed 10, 11, 12; Healthy Living and Fitness;  Michael Micknis – Social Studies 6 & 8, Phys Ed 6, 7, 8, 9, and Theology 6;     Deidre Minns – College & Careers, and Life Skills 6, 7, 8;  James Murphy – College Composition I, II, English 6 & 9, SAT Verbal, and Library 6;   Tim O’Connor – Government, Social Issues, Economics; World Cultures,  and Drivers Ed;  Alena Park – Trigonometry-Stats,  Geometry, Geometry Honors, Intro Geometry, SAT Math & Trig-Stats Honors;  Andrew Rice – Psychology 1 & 11, US History 1, II,  and AP American History;  Lauren  Rice – Algebra II,  Algebra I Honors (MS), Basic Algebra II,  and Math 6, 7;  Jodi Stewart – Chorus,  Music 7, Theology 6, 7, 8, and Spirit Song 6,7,8, and instrumental;  Rev. Father Ed Walk – Physics Honors, Basic Physics, and Theology 9;   Fr. David Whiteford – Theology 7, 10;  Laurie Zamperini – Pre-Calculas & Calculus.

Becky Dutra serves as Campus Minister.  William Champlin is Director of Technology; Assistant Director is Angela Edwards.   Debora Kruise is Director of Admissions and Marketing, Joyce Taylor is Director of Communications & Alumni, and Ricky Martini is the Athletic Director.   Dean of Discipline for middle and high school is Lauren Rice. The Administrative Secretary for the secondary level is Diane Himes; Elementary Administrative Secretary is Michele Burley.

Business Manager/CFO for the school system Pre-K through Grade 12 is Belinda Vasbinder, assisted by Kevin Anderson.  Paula Sliwinski is Rotary Rebate Coordinator. Donna Kosko serves as Elementary Teacher’s Aide.  Other elementary staff assistants are Elaine Jacob and Shelley Sebring.

Act 89 instructors include Stacey Truman and Retta Cebulskie,   Title I instructor is Heather Shirey, with Rose Nelen as Title I aide.   Vicky Pettenati, Joyce McKee, and Cheryl McIntosh serve as school nurses.

Brad Pifer is in charge of maintenance, assisted by Bob Boland.   The janitorial staff includes Supervisor Jeff Booher, Jennifer Smith, Nancy Murray, Mary Engle, Bill Evans, Harve Miller and Butch Adamson.

Nutrition, Inc. continues as DCC’s food service provider.



Posted in News.