End-of-Year Awards and Scholarships Announced for Class of 2017


The Administration of DuBois Central Catholic High School presented the traditional graduation honor plaques and awards during the 2017 Commencement on Sunday, June 4, at 1 p.m. in the school’s gymnasium.  Student Council President Riley Meyers gave the welcome and opening prayer.

Other commencement speakers were students Trisha Gupta and Gabrielle Caruso, Mr. James Gallagher of the Diocese of Erie, and Mrs. Dawn Bressler, Principal.  Msgr. Charles Kaza, President of DCC, gave the benediction.

The presentation of the graduates and the conferring of diplomas was under the direction of Mrs. Kathleen Kunkle, Academic Dean; Secondary Principal Bressler; and Mrs. Deidre Minns, Director of Guidance.

Reverend Father Edward Walk, Assistant Headmaster, served as emcee of Commencement and announced the following awardees who were presented honor plaques:  Academic Excellence – Trisha Gupta, Valedictorian; and Academic Achievement – Gabrielle Caruso, Salutatorian.

Honor plaques of excellence were also awarded to the following:   English – Riley Assalone; Mathematics – Zach Logan; Science – Macey Hanes;  Social Studies – Rebecca Pifer; Theology – Elizabeth Maurer;  Digital Communications – Riley Meyers; Technology – Michael Misiewicz; Drama – Pedar Garred; Foreign Language – Noah Pettenati; Journalism – Gabby Caruso; Music (2) – Pedar Garred & Rebecca Pifer; Academic Excellence & Participation in Varsity Sports – Jordy Frank; and Outstanding & Exemplary Christian Service (2) – Gabby Caruso and Riley Meyers.

Winner of the 2017 Mary Petruzzi Lionetti Memorial Scholarship Award for Catholic Leadership was Sadie Peck. The Bishop’s Award for Excellence was awarded to Trisha Gupta.

Following the 2017 Baccalaureate Mass, held in the auditorium on Saturday evening, June 3, Director of Guidance Deidre Minns emceed the Senior Awards Assembly.  The following awards and scholarships were presented at this assembly:

  • Dahrouge Family Education Scholarship – Rebecca Pifer;
  • DuBois Catholic School Citizenship Scholarship: – Trisha Gupta ;
  • Dr. Albert Varacallo Education Scholarship – Gabrielle Caruso;
  • Ferraro Accounting Scholarship – Robert Ishman;
  • Francis J. Mehall Engineering Scholarship – Zachary Logan;
  • George P. Gasbarre Engineering Scholarship – Macey Hanes & Zachary Logan;
  • Hilda Passarelli-Caramella & Samuel Caramella Scholarhip – Rebecca Pifer;
  • Mary Ann Caracciolo Memorial Scholarship – Rebecca Pifer;
  • Shane Edward Horner Memorial Scholarship – Trisha Gupta;
  • CCHS_DCC Alumni Scholarship – Gabrielle Caruso;
  • DAR Good Citizens Award – Trisha Gupta;
  • DuBois Kiwanis Scholarship – Macey Hanes;
  • DuBois Rotary Club Scholarship (2) – Gabrielle Caruso & Trisha Gupta;
  • Sandy Club Scholarship – Riley Assalone;
  • DRMC Auxiliary/Clara Hall Scholarship – Gabrielle Caruso & Trisha Gupta;
  • Olympic/Athletic Club Scholarship – Alexsis Kosko;
  • Knights of Columbus Charity Award – Gabrielle Caruso;
  • Reynoldsville Masonic Lodge Scholarship – Rebecca Pifer.

Acknowledged individually during the Commencement Ceremony were these additional scholarships awarded to the following members of the Class of 2017:

  • Riley Ann Assalone: Saint Vincent College Deans Scholarship, Stanley Black & Decker Scholarship, & the Wimmer Competition Exam Scholarship.
  • Gabrielle Nichole Caruso: Saint Francis University Founders Scholarship and the Franciscan Scholarship.
  • Austen Cogley: Penn State Behrend College Commonwealth Campus’ First Year Scholarship.
  • Brian M. Elias: Gannon University Knight Achievement Award;
  • Jackson Thomas Frank: Mount Aloysius College Merit Scholarship & Heritage Scholarship.
  • Jordan Leigh Frank: Saint Francis University Women’s Softball Scholarship, Red Flash Co-Curricular Award, and the Franciscan Scholarship.
  • Pedar John Garred: Pennsylvania State University Provost’s Award.
  • Macey Hanes: Robert Morris University Liberty Scholarship.
  • Lauren Elizabeth Holdren: Gannon University Knight Achievement Award.
  • Alexsis Kosko: University of Pittsburgh Academic Scholarship and Housing Scholarship.
  • Mark Andrew Latuska: Pennsylvania State University Provost’s Award.
  • Elizabeth Maurer: Gannon’s University Scholars Award.
  • Riley Meyers: Bethany College Presidential Scholarship.
  • Sadie Peck: University of Scranton Loyola Scholarship.
  • Noah Pettenati: King’s College Blessed Moreau Scholarship.
  • Rebecca Pifer: Lawrence University’s Amos Lawrence Scholarship and Ted Cloak Century Scholarship.

DCC’s Freshman Class hosted a reception Saturday evening for those attending the Baccalaureate Mass and Senior Awards Assembly on June 3, 2017.   Following the Commencement Ceremony on Sunday June 4, 2017, the 24 members of the Class of 2017 did the traditional ‘tossing of the mortar boards’ in the gym.



Posted in News.