Staff Assignments Announced for 2016-17

The Administration of DuBois Central Catholic announces staff assignments for the 2016-17 academic year.  DCC’s Pre-School, Elementary, Middle, and High Schools are housed in a four-wing educational complex at 200 Central Christian Road in Sandy Township.  The facility opened its doors at this location in the Fall of 2002 and is accredited by the Middle States Association of Colleges and Schools.

According to Mrs. Dawn Bressler, Principal of the middle school and high school, the Class of 2017 will be the 56th class of graduates from DCC.  She adds, “Catholic education in the DuBois area enjoys a long-standing tradition dating back to the late 19th Century (1889), and the primary school goal of spreading the Gospel message has remained the same into the 21st Century.”

Reverend Monsignor Charles A. Kaza, Vicar for the Eastern Vicariate and Pastor of St. Tobias Parish in Brockway, will continue serving as the President of the school system.  Mr. Michael Armanini begins his third year as Headmaster.  Reverend Father Edward Walk returns as Assistant Headmaster.  Mrs. Gretchen Caruso is the Elementary Principal, with Brenda Aravich returning as Assistant Elementary Principal.  Mrs. Kathleen Kunkle remains as Academic Dean of Curriculum, and Mrs. Deidre Minns is Director of Guidance.

Elementary faculty members include the following: Missy Noroski,  Kristy Morgan, Ashley Day, and Nicole Finalle – pre-school;   Kelle Pompeii and Stacey Frank – two sections of all-day kindergarten;  Brenda Aravich and Barb Dettore, first grade;  Jennifer Pisarcik and Linda Schalk, second grade;  Amber Stoey and Kristy Erich, third grade;  Susie Maurer and Jenna Nedzinski, fourth grade;  Debbie Vandervort and Kristy Snyder, fifth grade;  Joseph Lesnick, music and library facilitator;  Rickie Martini, phys ed;  Cheyenne Helman, art;  Sarah Winslow, elementary technology instructor; and Chris Felix, Elementary Resource Teacher.

Secondary faculty members include the following:    Heather Barber – English 7 & 8, Journalism 8,  Speech, Spanish 8;   Lisa Blasdell – Excel & Data,  Intro Programming, Cardinal Chatter,  Research 10,  3D & Web,  Media/Games, and Mast Web/Marketing;   Steve Boland  – English 6, 7, 8; and library (ms);  Dawn Bressler – Basic Algebra I;    Andy Chaplin – German III, German 6;   Donna Chollock –  AP Biology, Biology,  Environmental Science, French I, II, III,  and Ecology;   Tara Deemer  – Spanish I, II, III, IV, and Spanish for Health Care Providers;   Becky Dutra – Theology 10, 11 & 12,  Liturgy & Sacraments,  and Spirituality;   Angela Edwards – Intro Engineering,  CAD, and Robotics 8;   Jenn Graeca – Chemistry I, II,  Advanced Chemistry I, AP Chemistry II, Anatomy, and Medical Technology.

Other secondary faculty members are Rene Gressler – Science 6, 7, 8,  and Science Enrichment 8;  Carol Korthaus – English 10, Communications, Humanities,  and Journalism;  Tara Kramer – Social Studies 7, 8, and Computer 6, 7, 8;   Kathleen Kunkle – AP Lit & Composition, Advanced English 11, Drama, Social Justice, and English 9, 11;  Ricky Martini  – Phys Ed 10, 11, and Health;  Michael Micknis – Social Studies 6 & 8, Phys Ed 6, 7, 8, 9, and Theology 6;     Deidre Minns – College & Careers, and Life Skills 6, 7, 8;  James Murphy – College Composition I, II, English 6 & 9, and SAT Verbal;   Tim O’Connor – Government, Social Issues, Economics; Sociology, World Cultures,  and Drivers Ed ;  Alena Park – Finance, Trigonometry,  Geometry, Geometry Honors, Intro Geometry, Algebra II Honors, and SAT Math;  Andrew Rice – Psychology 1 & 11, and US History 1, II;    Lauren  Rice – Algebra II,  Algebra I Honors 8, Basic Algebra II,  and Math 6, 7;   Caitlin Smith – Art 6, 7, 8, Art, and Studio Art;  Jodi Stewart – Chorus 8, Music 7, Theology 6, 7, 8, and Spirit Song;  Rev. Father Ed Walk – Physics Honors, Basic Physics,  Algebra I, and Theology 9;   Starleen Young – Pre-Algebra 7, 8, Problem Solving 7, 8,  Math 6, and Study Skills 6;  Mrs. Laurie Zamperini – Pre-Calculas & Calculas.

Becky Dutra serves as Campus Minister with Rev. Father James P. Power of St. Francis Parish assisting.   William Champlin is Director of Technology; Assistant Director is Angela Edwards.   Debora Kruise is Director of Admissions and Marketing.  Sharon Varischetti is Advancement Director.   Joyce Taylor is Director of Communications & Alumni; Ricky Martini is the Athletic Director.   Dean of Discipline for the high school is Caitlin Smith with Lauren Rice in this role for the middle school. The Administrative Secretary for the secondary level is Diane Himes;   Elementary Administrative Secretary is Michele Burley.

Business Manager for the school system Pre-K through Grade 12 is Belinda Vasbinder, assisted by Kevin Anderson.  Lisa Buskirk Nasuti is Rotary Rebate Coordinator, assisted by Kelly Stringer.  Donna Kosko serves as Elementary Teacher’s Aide.  Other staff assistants are Judy Brosky, Elaine Jacob, and Shelley Sebring.

Act 89 instructors include Stacey Truman and Retta Cebulskie,   Title I instructor is Joan Klark, with Rose Nelen as Title I aide.   Vicky Pettenati, Joyce McKee, and Cheryl McIntosh serve as school nurses.

Brad Pifer is in charge of maintenance, assisted by Bob Boland.   The janitorial staff includes Supervisor Jeff Booher, Jennifer Smith, Nancy Murray, Jeff Pernesky, Mary Engle, Mike Quashnock, Bill Evans, and Matt Snyder.

Nutrition, Inc. continues as DCC’s food service provider.




Posted in News.