DCC Announces Awards & Scholarships for the Class of 2016

hat toss_2016

The Administration of DuBois Central Catholic High School presented the traditional graduation honor plaques and awards during the 2016 Commencement, held on Sunday, June 5, at 1 p.m. in the school’s gymnasium.  Student Council President, Nicholas Szczerba, gave the welcome and opening prayer.

Other speakers were students Michael Zaffuto and Cullen Engle; Dr. Samuel Signorino of the Diocese of Erie, and Mrs. Dawn Bressler, Principal.  Msgr. Charles Kaza, President of DCC, gave the benediction.

The presentation of the graduates and the conferring of diplomas was under the direction of Mrs. Kathleen Kunkle, Academic Dean; Principal Bressler; and Mrs. Deidre Minns, Director of Guidance.

Reverend Father Edward Walk, Assistant Headmaster, served as emcee of Commencement and announced the following awardees who were presented honor plaques:  Academic Excellence – Michael Zaffuto, Valedictorian; and Academic Achievement – Cullen Engle, Salutatorian.

Honor plaques were also awarded during commencement to the following:   English – Trisha Kreydt;  Math – Natalie Curtis;  Science – Andrea Selker;  Social Studies – Jacob Miknis;  Theology – Kathryn Ellenberger;  Digital Communications – Teresa Sayers;  Technology – Markus Peterson;  Drama – Caitlyn Manduley;  Foreign Language – Natalie Curtis;  Journalism – Olivia Marchioni;  Music – Michael Zaffuto; Varsity Sports – Stephanie Rossi and Joseph Varischetti;  and Christian Service – Abigail Martini.

Winner of the 2016 Catholic Leadership Award and the Bishop’s Award for Excellence was Michael Zaffuto.   A certificate for ‘perfect attendance during all four years of high school’ was presented to Cullen Engle; a certificate for ‘perfect attendance for the senior year’ was presented to Jonathan Prebe.

Following the 2016 Baccalaureate Mass, held in the auditorium on Saturday evening, June 5, Director of Guidance Deidre Minns emceed the Senior Awards Assembly.  The following awards and scholarships were presented:

  • DAR Good Citizens Award – Kathryn Ellenberger;
  • DuBois Catholic School Citizenship Scholarship: – Teresa Sayers;
  • Dr. Albert Varacallo Education Scholarship – Abigail Martini;
  • Ferraro Accounting Scholarship – Cullen Engle;
  • Francis J. Mehall Engineering Scholarship – Joseph Varischetti;
  • George P. Gasbarre Engineering Scholarship – Joseph Varischetti;
  • Shane Edward Horner Memorial Scholarship – Abigail Martini;
  • DuBois Rotary Club Scholarship (3) – Trisha Kreydt, Abigail Martini, and Teresa Sayers;
  • George D. Montgomery Post 17 Scholarship – Alex Micknis;
  • DuBois Kiwanis Scholarship – Teresa Sayers;
  • DuBois Area Jaycees Scholarship – Abigail Martini;
  • Sandy Club Scholarship – Mara Baronick;
  • DRMC Auxiliary/Clara Hall Scholarship – Abigail Martini;
  • Olympic/Athletic Club Scholarship – Alex Micknis;
  • Knights of Columbus Charity Award – Ty Bittner;
  • CNB Bank Scholarship – Cullen Engle;
  • DACOTA Scholarship – Markus Peterson.


Acknowledged individually during the Commencement Ceremony were these additional scholarships awarded to the following members of the Class of 2016:

  • Kasey Baronick – LaRoche College Catholic Education Scholarship & the Merit Scholarship.
  • Mara Baronick – LaRoche College Catholic Education Scholarship & the Merit Scholarship.
  • Ty Bittner – Clarion University Athletic Scholarship, Baseball.
  • Kyra Blakley – Gannon University Academic Scholarship.
  • Kathryn Ellenberger – Mount Aloysius College Mercy Presidential Scholarship & the Heritage Scholarship.
  • Cullen Engle – Robert Morris University Presidential Scholarship; Reynoldsville Masonic Lodge Scholarship.
  • Cy Hollenbaugh – Ready to Succeed Scholarship.
  • Jacob Hollenbaugh – Staffieri Family Scholarship.
  • Trisha Kreydt – Kent State’s Honors Scholarship, Trustees Scholarship, President’s Scholarship, & University Award; National Merit – NI Source Scholarship.
  • Christian LaParne – Mercyhurst University Eagan Scholarship and the Bishop Watson Scholarship.
  • Abigail Martini – DCC Chapter’s National Honor Society Scholarship.
  • Jacob Miknis – St. Bonaventure University Men’s Baseball Scholarship, Friars Scholarship, Friars Resident Scholarship, and the Endowed Scholarship.
  • Markus Peterson – Robert Morris University’s Justice Scholarship.
  • Nicholas Szczerba – Misericordia University’s Presidential Scholarship and the McAuley Scholarship.
  • Luke Weis – Point Park University’s Trustees Scholarship and Provost Scholarship.
  • Michael Zaffuto – PSU’s Main Campus’ College of Agricultural Sciences Scholarship.

The Freshman Class hosted a reception Saturday evening for those attending the Baccalaureate Mass and Senior Awards Assembly.   Following the Commencement Ceremony on Sunday afternoon, the Class of 2016 did the traditional ‘tossing of the mortar boards’ in front of the school.



Posted in News.